new relationship, old loyal partner

No, this is not a mushy post. Not even a post about wedding preps. I thought of writing about rekindling my relationship with my ‘old lover’ – with a new kind of passion, with a few barriers dropped between us and a new overwhelming desire to submit.

I learnt (more) about the Book. My vitamin Q.

Back in high school, I had a mountain of worries. And I remembered what I learnt on my umrah trip: Allah speaks to you through His words. So at times of sorrow and at times of need for tranquility I sought them via my Tafseer. I will just make a dua and randomly open the pages and I put faith that He will show me a way out or a way through. And it never failed. 🙂

Throughout the years I held on close to the practice of reciting the Quran as much. Khatam whenever you can. Khatam through Ramadan. But as I grew older and as I recently learnt from attending Ust. Nouman Ali Khan’s lectures, I should really foster an unrelenting relationship with it. IT should be my manual, my chicken-soup-for-the-soul, my BNF and BFF. IT should have worn out pages and stick it notes more than my Dobbs for radiotherapy.

I took my loyal tafseer from the shelf and I placed it on my bedside table. I lay down coloured pens and post-it labels by its side. And I had all the podcasts from Bayyinah. Bismillah.

I am going to take time to take in the words of Allah. And I will be student who perseveres and strives insya Allah. As I said, this time around, I’m going in with a new attitude.

About miss M

Just another person, finding her way through a catalogue of errors and a series of accomplishments. Each time arriving at the same conclusion: everything is from Him.
This entry was posted in reflections. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

